Fondly called “The Marie Award” after Dr. Nyswander, the Nyswander-Dole Award was first presented in 1983 to recognize extraordinary work and service in the opioid treatment field. Recipients are selected by their peers from each region in the United States and, at least, one international region. Recipients of The Marie Award are not only recognized for their outstanding contributions to methadone treatment, but the award brings with it a responsibility to methadone treatment, particularly with regard to treating patients with dignity and respect.


2004 – Robert Schwartz, M.D.